Sponsors & Contributors

Adam Arthur
Abraham Lincoln High School

Adam Arthur has taught social studies in the Des Moines Public School District for 5 years and currently teaches Advanced Placement Government and Politics at Abraham Lincoln High School. Adam also works as an instructional coach on the AP Government and Politics Knowledge in Action project which is a project of the George Lucas Educational Foundation. He has a bachelor’s degree in all social science from the University of Norther Iowa with an endorsement in Advanced Placement U.S. Government and Politics. In his free time Adam enjoys being outdoors, playing disc golf, and spending time with his fiancé and pit bull “Aero”.

Canada Snyder
Central Academy

Canada Snyder has taught social studies for 16 years and currently teaches AP and IB classes at Des Moines' Central Academy. She has a bachelor's degree in history from the University of Iowa and master of science in education from Drake University with an emphasis in curriculum writing. Canada enjoys reading history books-especially anything on Lincoln-scrapbooking, listening to music and spending time with her husband and two children. Canada has won the Belin Blank Award for Excellence in Teaching and has participated in teacher study tours in China and Germany.

Joseph Nydle
Hoover High School

Joseph Nydle teaches AP Government and AP Human Geography at Hoover High School in Des Moines. Prior to teaching, Mr. Nydle worked various roles in electoral politics, advocacy, and public policy. His passion for informed civic action and love for working with youth inspired him to transition to the classroom. It is his goal to consistently create engaging and challenging lessons with a relevant context. Mr. Nydle lives in Des Moines with his wife and their dogs.

Curriculum Reviewers

Kari Miller — East Mills Community High School

Kurt Flood — Dowling Catholic High School

Travis Sprague — Harris-Lake Park Community School District

Carol Price — Heartland Area Education Agency 11

Dominic Iannone — West High School

Jennifer Cole — Shenandoah High School

Kathy Turnball — Indianola High School

Alex Wimmer — Remsen Union School District

Christine Schaefer — Woodward Granger High School

Sam Hellberg — Wapello Junior High School

Mark Zeka — Le Mars Community High School

Chris Arians — Clarksville Middle School

J. Keith Fry — Substitute Teacher

Premier Sponsors

Sponsorship Opportunities Still Available

For more information

email Michael.Ross@sos.iowa.gov

or call 515-725-2874

Thumbs Up!
We Looked Over The Curriculum And We Give It A Thumbs Up!

Mike Archer
Eric Jones
Eric Jones
Eric Jones
Anthony Wilson
Eric Jones
Thomas Martinez
Eric Jones
Tara Campbell
John Mathews
Athena Ammons
Eric Jones
Eric Jones
Deb Mcnutt
Eric Jones
Eric Jones
Eric Jones
Eric Jones
Thomas Martinez
Eric Jones
Jamie Skeens
Eric Jones
Olivia Johnson
Eric Jones
Collin Colechin
Eric Jones
Eric Jones
Eric Jones
Eric Jones
Eric Jones
Eric Jones
Eric Jones
John Mathews
Eli Waters
Mike Saffern
David Stern
Abi Cool
Mike Tetreault
Andy Prinsen — Muscatine High School
Mac McDonald — North Scott HS, Eldridge, IA
Joel Miller — Hempstead High School
Bob Bolton — Guthrie Center High School
Larry Littlefield — Glidden-Ralston Schools
Jenny Sinclair — Lakewood Elementary - Norwalk
Lee Crawford — Sigourney
Jamie Johnson — Denver Middle School
Janette Schroeder — Harding Middle School/CRCSD
Kyle Leonard — Lamoni Community Schools
Mike Jones — Harmony Comm, School
Kyle Engdahl — Vinton-Shellsburg High School
Jack Vanderflught — Dallas Center-Grimes High School
Craig Ragaller — Ar-We-Va Schools
Danielle Guntly — Lewis Central Middle School
Dennis Smeltzer — Waterloo IA Schools, Bunger Middle School
Ryan Loots
Rex Deckard — Valley High School, West Des Moines
Deanne Luensmann — Seton Catholic School
Andy Harter — Sigourney High School
Steve Brown — OA-BCIG
Reagan J. Metcalf — Martensdale-St. Mary's Community Schools
Jason Rude — New Hampton Community School
Amy Ruhland — Adair-Casey
Mark Zeka — Le Mars Community High School
Randy Hilbelink — Orange City Christian School
Austin Thies — Saint Albert Catholic Schools
Kody Moses — Iowa Falls-Alden High School
Chad Whittle — Starmont
Michael Cowell — Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn (HMS)
Christine Schaefer — Woodward Granger High School
Larry Littlefield — Glidden-Ralston Schools
Sam Hellberg — Wapello Jr High
Kiley Yates — South O'Briend HS
Kathy Turnball — Indianola Community Schools
Noel Herbst — Sergeant Bluff-Luton School District
tom Jenk — Beckman Catholic H.S.
Jennifer Cole — Shenandoah High School
Dominic Iannone — West High School/Iowa City School District
Kurt Flood — Dowling Catholic High School
Linsay Hall — Valley Lutheran School
Carol Price — Heartland AEA 11
Travis Sprague — Harris-Lake Park